Government Structure

Eagle City government is based upon an active Mayor and four City Council Members. The duties associated with a City Manager in other municipalities are managed by the Mayor as Eagle’s Chief Executive Officer. The Mayor carries out the policies and directives of the Council. The Mayor sets the agenda for the Council and votes only when there is a tie vote.


City Council members are elected to four-year terms office in November elections in alternate years. Two members are elected in each election cycle so that two new members are paired with two seated Council Members to address the City’s business. Vacancies are filled by the Mayor with the Council’s approval.

Advisory Groups

Representatives to advisory groups such as Planning and Zoning, Design Review and Arts Commission are appointed by the Mayor with approval of the Council.